FinTech Australia reappoints Chair, introduces new director roles

FinTech Australia has reappointed Alan Tsen as Chair and several new board members, as part of a broader restructure of the organisation.

Tsens appointment serves as his second term as Chair for FinTech Australia.

Its an honour to continue to serve FinTech Australia as its Chair, FinTech Australia Chair Alan Tsen said

Weve made fantastic progress in the past year on a number of key issues. I look forward to continuing to represent the community in this role.

Reinventures Lauren Capelin will step up into role of Deputy Chair.

In addition, FinTech Australia has appointed the following board members:

  • Alice Chauvel, MyProsperity
  • Simone Joyce, PaypaPlane
  • Robin Sands, Link4

Joyce and Sands were appointed via a casual vacancy earlier this year, and have now been elected to the role. Emma Weston and Nicholas Lembo will retire from the board.

In addition to Chauvel, Joyce and Sands, FinTech Australias current board includes:

  • Melissa Mack, MoneyPlace
  • Paul Kang, Entersoft Security
  • Tim Dean,
  • Carla Harris, Longevity App

New non-exec directors

FinTech Australia will also appoint two new non-executive directors from the Financial Services industry, as part of a raft of new measures approved at the peak industry groups annual general meeting.

The new appointments are aimed at better connecting and fostering collaboration between fintechs to Australias banking industry. They will participate in the operation and management of FinTech Australia, but will not have board voting privileges.

Collaboration is key for our fintechs to succeed. With these appointments, we hope to lead by example and also foster stronger ties between fintechs and the Financial Services industry, FinTech Australia General Manager Rebecca Schot-Guppy said.

As a result, were now looking for three passionate members of the financial services community to join our ranks and help us shape the future of fintech in Australia.

Revised board member policies

In addition, FinTech Australia has also revised its state-based quota system for its board. It removed the minimum number of board members per state. Now, each state is capped at a maximum cap of three board members per state.

FinTech Australia has also put in place new eligibility requirements for board nominees. Previously any member could run for a board position. Now, the member must be part of either a startup or a scaleup company to apply.

This follows FinTech Australias news last week to introduce two new membership tiers, which in effect allow consultants, corporates and international fintechs to join FinTech Australia.

As FinTech Australia grows, we want to ensure we have the strongest representation of our community possible on our board. These changes ensure this, Schot-Guppy said.

The news comes as FinTech Australia hits a new record of over 325 members across Australia.

Schot-Guppy said: FinTech Australia has gained a lot of momentum in the past six months, running our most successful events to date and signing global partnerships with our overseas counterparts.

About FinTech Australia:

FinTech Australia is a member-driven organisation that is building an ecosystem of Australian fintechs to advance the global economy and culture. We are here to build a strong community, foster connections while supporting innovation and regulation that our members require. Above all else, we are here to be the voice of the Australian fintech community.

Media Contact

Harrison Polites
0409 623 518

Upcoming Events
  1. B2B SaaS events by AWS

    August 17 @ 8:30 am - 2:30 pm
  2. Intersekt 2022

    September 7 - September 8

Ep 2: Fintechs Acceleration of Growth Since COVID

Ep 1: The Evolution of Payments

Scaling Product Globally


Lee Hatton – Afterpay: FinTech Australia Podcast

Anthony Jones – Visa AUS/NZ

Tim Cameron – TransferWise